Browser not supported

You are using an old browser that we do not support anymore. Please consider using a modern web browser such as Microsoft Edge, Google Chrome or Firefox for the best website experience.
ACO Passavant Detego

Sometimes it just all comes together: the largest manhole covers in terms of area that we have developed and installed to date are also a prime example of the expertise available at ACO Passavant Detego. The customer was the Luxembourg tramway company Luxtram, who had some additional requirements for the oversized floor access hatches they were looking for. The deadline: tight. And it all got even tighter, back in the spring of 2020 ...

Luxembourg aims to reduce the number of cars in the city centre. In order to achieve this, public transport has been free for everyone since February 2020. In addition, the Grand Duchy is investing 2 billion euros in public transport. These include electrically powered trams that run without overhead wires. These trams charge their batteries within seconds while at stops. This requires powerful transformers, which need to be buried under the ground along with their associated infrastructure. We were asked to develop the transformer covers. The design of the covers was supposed to blend in with the surrounding architecture.

Large transformer covers with additional requirements.

It was clear that special solutions had to be developed for these manhole covers. Manhole hatches in the required sizes are not available in any standard range. A total of five special shaft covers were required, two of which were of the same design: the largest floor cover with an area of 3 x 19 m at the main station, the second largest at Place des Metz, a cover at Place de Paris and two identical ones at the Hamilius and Place de Paris stops.

Apart from the sheer size, the additional requirements placed on the manhole covers were also intriguing. They also needed to be impermeable to water, thermally insulated and able to withstand being driven over by lorries. They should have an automatic opening due to the frequent foot traffic. Furthermore, it was the architect's wish to have covers that were as inconspicuous as possible. There was also to be as little metal visible on the surface as possible and the hatches should be able to accommodate paving.

After our offer was submitted in the spring of 2019, the contract was awarded in October of the same year and with it the time for construction. Construction was scheduled to begin in April 2020 and to be completed in December 2020. Of course, in the construction industry we are well aware that deadlines can be tight. What nobody could have expected, however, was the Corona pandemic and the accompanying restrictions on freedom of movement and the movement of goods.

Special manhole covers and two-shift operation.

The fact that we have managed to get through this first Corona phase well is largely due to the good cooperation with our clients and the tremendous dedication of our team. Complex challenges like the Luxtram project always spur us on to achieve our best. Working in two shifts, we were able not only to develop the perfect solution for Luxtram, but also to satisfy all of our other customers in this turbulent year.

Countless individual parts were welded, edged and laser-cut for the manhole covers in Luxembourg. For a project of this size, we of course carried out the installation on site ourselves. Once again, the outstanding cooperation with the other contractors was remarkable: no sooner had we installed and approved the covers than the paving of the covers began, allowing them to blend into the anthracite-coloured paving in a way that was barely noticeable.

Punctual completion and successful installation.

Completing and installing our manhole covers on time is, of course, always one of the most important goals. This time we had a special celebration, as the handover could take place as planned in December 2020, in time for the opening of the tram line just before Christmas.

The special size of the construction also brings with it special requirements for the materials. As was to be expected, our factory can withstand these stresses in everyday operation. This is confirmed by the servicing we regularly carry out on the manhole covers in Luxembourg.

The result can be clearly seen as there is so little to actually see. As requested by the client, only a small amount of metal is visible on the surface. By using natural stone, we have met the special requirements for design and visual appearance of the surface. The integration into the local architecture has been particularly successful at Place de Metz, where the second largest shaft cover is located.

Browser nicht unterstützt

Sie verwenden einen alten Browser, den wir nicht mehr unterstützen. Bitte verwenden Sie einen modernen Browser wie Microsoft Edge, Google Chrome oder Firefox für eine optimale Webseitenbedienung.
ACO Passavant Detego


Manchmal kommt doch alles auf einmal: Die flächenmäßig größten Schachtabdeckungen, die wir bisher entwickelt und eingebaut haben, sind gleichzeitig ein Paradebeispiel für mehrere unserer Kompetenzen bei ACO Passavant Detego. Auftraggeber war die Luxemburgische Straßenbahngesellschaft Luxtram, und für die gewünschten Bodenklappen in Übergröße waren einige Zusatzanforderungen zu berücksichtigen. Das Timing: knapp. Und es wurde alles noch knapper, damals, im Frühjahr 2020 …

Luxemburg will das Autoaufkommen in der Innenstadt reduzieren. Um das zu erreichen, ist seit Februar 2020 der Öffentliche Personenverkehr kostenlos für alle. Zusätzlich investiert das Großherzogtum 2 Milliarden Euro in den ÖPNV. Dazu zählen elektrisch angetriebene Straßenbahnen, die ohne Oberleitung fahren. Diese Straßenbahnen laden ihre Akkus in Sekundenschnelle während der Stopps an den Haltestellen. Dafür sind leistungsstarke Trafos erforderlich, die samt ihrer Infrastruktur unter der Erde verschwinden sollten. Für die Entwicklung der Trafoabdeckungen wurden wir angefragt. Das Design der Abdeckungen sollte sich dabei in die örtliche Architektur einfügen.

Große Trafoabdeckungen mit Zusatzanforderungen.

Klar war, dass für diese Schachtabdeckungen Sonderlösungen entwickelt werden mussten. Schachtklappen in den erforderlichen Größen gibt es in keinem Standardsortiment. Insgesamt fünf Sonderschachtabdeckungen waren gefordert, zwei davon in gleicher Bauart: Die größte Bodenklappe mit 3 x 19 m Fläche am Hauptbahnhof, die zweitgrößte am Place des Metz, eine Abdeckung am Place de Paris und zwei baugleiche an den Haltestellen Hamilius und Place de Paris.

Abgesehen von der reinen Größe waren auch die Zusatzanforderungen an die Schachtabdeckungen spannend. Natürlich sollten sie tagwasserdicht sein, wärmegedämmt und zudem LKW-befahrbar. Wegen der häufigen Begehung sollten sie über eine automatische Öffnung verfügen. Darüber hinaus war es der Wunsch des Architekten, möglichst unauffällige Abdeckungen zu bekommen. Es sollte wenig Metall an der Oberfläche sichtbar und die Klappen sollten auspflasterbar sein.

Nach unserem Angebot im Frühjahr 2019 folgte im Oktober desselben Jahres der Auftrag und damit die Zeit der Konstruktion. Baubeginn war schon für April 2020 vorgesehen, die Fertigstellung für Dezember 2020. Dass die Timings knapp sein können, kennen wir im Baugewerbe natürlich schon. Womit allerdings kaum jemand gerechnet haben dürfte, waren die Corona-Pandemie und damit einhergehend die Einschränkungen von Bewegungsfreiheit und Warenverkehr.

Sonderschachtabdeckungen und Zwei-Schicht-Betrieb.

Dass wir gut durch diese erste Corona-Phase gekommen sind, ist in hohem Maße der guten Zusammenarbeit mit unseren Kunden und dem großen Einsatz unseres Teams zu verdanken. Komplexe Herausforderungen wie das Luxtram-Projekt spornen uns immer wieder zu Höchstleistungen an. So konnten wir im Zwei-Schicht-Betrieb nicht nur die perfekte Lösung für Luxtram entwickeln, sondern auch alle anderen Kunden in diesem turbulenten Jahr zufriedenstellen.

Für die Schachtabdeckungen in Luxemburg wurden unzählige Einzelteile geschweißt, gekantet und gelasert. Bei einem Projekt dieser Größe haben wir den Einbau vor Ort natürlich selbst vorgenommen. Bemerkenswert war auch mal wieder die gute Zusammenarbeit mit den anderen Gewerken: Kaum, dass wir die Abdeckungen eingesetzt und freigegeben hatten, wurde auch schon mit dem Auspflastern der Abdeckungen begonnen, sodass diese kaum erkennbar im anthrazitfarbenen Pflaster aufgehen und optisch perfekt eingebunden sind.

Pünktliche Fertigstellung und erfolgreicher Einsatz.

Die termingerechte Fertigstellung und Montage unserer Schachtabdeckungen gehört natürlich immer zu den wichtigsten Zielen. Dieses Mal war es uns ein besonders Fest, denn die Übergabe konnte wie geplant im Dezember 2020 erfolgen, rechtzeitig zur Eröffnung der Straßenbahnlinie kurz vor Weihnachten.

Die besondere Größe der Konstruktion bringt natürlich auch besondere Anforderungen an die Materialien mit sich. Wie nicht anders zu erwarten war, hält unser Werk diesen Belastungen auch im Betriebsalltag stand. Die Wartungen, die wir regelmäßig an den Schachtabdeckungen in Luxemburg durchführen, bestätigen das.

Das Ergebnis kann sich vor allem deshalb sehen lassen, weil es sich so wenig sehen lässt. Wie vom Auftraggeber gewünscht, ist nur wenig Metall an der Oberfläche sichtbar. Durch die Verwendung von Naturstein sind wir den besonderen Anforderungen an Design und optischer Oberflächengestaltung gerecht geworden. Besonders am Place de Metz, wo die zweitgrößte Schachtabdeckung liegt, ist die Integration in die örtliche Architektur sehr gut gelungen.